In the middle of the wilderness…

Have caught a cold whenever the season changes, it doesn’t surprise me at all, my body literally can’t take it, for it is fragile and weak. It takes me long time to recover but certainly I know that sooner or later I will recover. And that’s how I begin writing on this blog, writing about the recent challenges I’ve been facing in my Christian journey, times where you are about to faint, times where you seem so discouraged and disconnected, longing to overcome. Great is God, my Lord! For He has given mercy to her servant, He deliberately pursues his people with such a gentleness, faithfulness and patience that can even thrill your soul. These two words, “remain” and “hope” keep this “warrior” fighting, fighting in the battle field that was assigned for her to bring glory to the one that indeed has overcome the world, The Lord Jesus Christ.

image I think everyone has experienced been thirsty, right? your mouth starts to get dry, your stomach starts to make weird noises and then you feel so desperate that the only thing you can ever be thinking is to find something that can take away that dryness. Well that’s how I started to feel a few weeks ago, feeling dry, so dry that even my inmost being was trembling. I realized that I needed to find satisfaction in my relationship with God, that kind of satisfaction that would fulfill my soul, my heart, my all being. I’ve heard many times that you are not to depend on your feelings rather than depend on what the word of God says. I agree with that but I also think that God did not just create us as a rational beings, we have emotions as well. While I was reading the scriptures day by day, I began to wander why I was feeling like that, so dry and not satisfied, what was the reason? I mean, I had everything you know? I had Jesus, I had my family and friends, I loved my job, I had a place to stay, I had food, etc. so what was that? Well I came with this conclusion, I don’t know if you agree or not but God will make you feel in such a way, to point you out that you can not get satisfied in him just once, he wants you to seek him earnestly, we are to be thirsty in order to get satisfied, if we are not thirsty, well I guess we have a problem because we are just feeling comfortable with our relationship with God. Don’t take me wrong, I am not saying that we are to look for more revelation from God but what I am trying to say is that we can not get enough of our relationship with him, it’s just impossible. Psalm 63:1-2 O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water. Seeking joy in my relationship with God, has convicting me in many ways because He has not only used people to deliver his message but also songs and Bible verses to make me acknowledge that I needed to come back to him with a sincere, pure heart, repenting of my rebellions against him. Psalm 51: 8-12 Let me hear joy and gladness; let the bones that you have broken rejoice. 9 Hide your face from my sins, and blot out all my iniquities. 10 Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me. 11 Cast me not away from your presence, and take not your Holy Spirit from me. 12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit. Just a few weeks ago, my friend and I were heading towards Kobe and while we were on the train, we started to share about our struggles such as family issues or even spiritual things. We looked so down that even we became aware of it, we were like, No! We don’t want the people of Kobe to see us like that, in contrary we want them to see that we have hope, in despise of our circumstances. So we arrived to Kobe and as usual I began to give flyers on the street and invite people to the church. I had the chance to meet with a Taiwanese man, he could speak some English, so I called some of my friends over and at the end, we ended up going to church. Before worship started, we could talk to him, get to know him a little bit and so forth but then in the middle of the conversation he said something to us that really impacted us. He is like: I don’t know why, but you guys seem to have like a light, you look so happy and I wonder why, is it because of God? I saw my friend and we were like WHAT? Are you serious? I mean, just remember that a few hours ago we were feeling so down and now this man comes, someone that we have never met before and he tells us that we have like a light? Is not God so Amazing?! I think as a Christian, for most of us we want the people to see that we are different, we want the people to wander why and how is that possible. You might imagined already the answer that we gave to him. With such an assurance we said: it is because of Jesus. After two weeks of having not news, we met with him again and had such a great time talking to him. My friends and I began to explain the meaning of the cross, and other amazing thing happened. Basically, we were saying to him, “Jesus took our sins”, he tried his best to understand, so he would repeat what we were saying in order to let us know if he understood or not. Once we said those words, he said: so you mean, Jesus washed away our sins? Wow you gotta know that we not even mentioned those words of “washing away our sins”, that really blew our minds! How could he said it? We truly believe that God was helping this man, there’s no doubt.! At the end he came to Saturday and Sunday worship as well. He got a Bible and just started to read it. He’s looking for the Living God. It is so outstanding to be able to see this, God not only encouraged me through that circumstance but also His plans were fulfilled. Please pray that God will draw more people to himself, that they will get hungry and thirsty for him. By the way, God has been pouring out more of him, little by little, I am not so dry now as I was before and I just want to say thank you for the prayers, they are eventually a great encouragement for me. image

Leave a Reply

